Minutes of a Special Meeting of the Council held in the Council Chamber, Worthing Town Hall on

17 December 2019

The Mayor Councillor Hazel Thorpe
The Deputy Mayor Councillor Lionel Harman

Councillor Noel Atkins Councillor Roy Barraclough Councillor Ferdousi Henna

Chowdhury

Councillor Rebecca Cooper Councillor Edward Crouch

Councillor Jim Deen
Councillor Karen Harman
Councillor Paul High

Councillor Paul High
Councillor Margaret Howard
Councillor Daniel Humphreys
Councillor Charles James
Councillor Kevin Jenkins
Councillor Martin McCabe

Councillor Sean McDonald
Councillor Richard Mulholland

Councillor Louise Murphy
Councillor Richard Nowak
Councillor Helen Silman
Councillor Jane Sim
Councillor Dawn Smith
Councillor Sally Smith

Councillor Robert Smytherman

Councillor Val Turner Councillor Nicola Waight Councillor Steve Waight Councillor Carl Walker Councillor Steve Wills Councillor Tim Wills Councillor Mark Withers

C/40/19-20 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Baker, Barrett, Bickers, Mercer, Sparkes and Westover.

C/41/19-20 Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to make any declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests but no declarations were made.

C/42/19-20 Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Worthing

The Mayor informed Members that at the October Council meeting it had been agreed to convene a Special Council meeting to confer the title of Honorary Alderman, on former mayor Alex Harman.

The conferment of the title was proposed by Councillor Daniel Humphreys and seconded by Councillor Bob Smytherman.

On a unanimous vote, it was

Resolved

That the honour and title of Honorary Alderman for the Borough of Worthing be bestowed on Alex Harman, in grateful recognition of his eminent and distinguished service rendered to

Selden Ward, the Council and the Borough between 2015 and 2019, pursuant to Section 249
of the Local Government Act, 1972.

The Mayor presented Honorary Alderman Alex Harman with his scroll.

The Mayor declared the meeting closed at 6.13 pm, having commenced at 6.00 pm

Mayor